Skip to content

Chili Soup: Clean Your Fridge, Fill Your Belly

April 9, 2011

The Soup Guy is one of a network of cafeteria style establishments across from where I work.  A few years back I was fortunate enough to stumble upon them when they were serving what they call Obama Soup.  This soup was thin but jammed packed with more items than my local grocery store even sells.  Every spoonful held an entirely different offering, from vegetables to beans to meat.  It was a masterpiece.  This Chili Soup recipe is based solely on that experience.  Add everything and anything you can find in your fridge and your cupboards to some broth and make your tummy happy.  I would have called it stone soup, but then I’d feel a little guilty when I ate it all myself.

I generally chop vegetables into giant hunks for most of my cooking because I don’t love spending more time on anything than I have to and I don’t own a food processor, but I would suggest dicing up whatever you throw into this soup fairly small.   The whole idea is that you want every mouthful to be a little different and you want the soup to be light and brothy.  Otherwise you’d just be making chili, not Chili Soup.

Ingredients:

For this edition, from the fridge I used some celery, carrots, an onion, pepper, potato and zucchini – any vegetables are a welcome addition.  I also added ground beef, but meat is definitely optional and not missed if you don’t use any.

From the cupboard, I used barley, kidney beans, mini diced tomatoes and some tomato paste I used to flavour a broth.  A can of mixed beans is the best.  The Soup Guy used various beans and some corn too which I try to include when I make this if I have any on hand.

The soup is completely flavourful on its own, but I like to add a bit of chili seasoning for something different.

Get out a big soup pot and start browning your meat in it.  I leave my stove on medium as I continue to add things to the pot.  I only turn it down to a simmer once everything is added to the pot.

As your meat browns, chop an onion, throw it in the pot.  Give everything a stir.

Add the next item, maybe celery, give everything a stir.

Next I added peppers, stirred.

Carrots.  Stir.  I’m sure you are getting the hang of this now!

Here’s the zucchini.

And the potato.

The barley.  Barley is awesome in any soup.

The kidney beans.  Again, I’d suggest going with a can of mixed beans instead.  And don’t waste the liquid in the can down the sink drain, add it all to the soup.

Get the thick bean residue from the bottom of the can into the soup too by adding some water to the can and swishing it around until it all comes out.

Mini diced tomatoes, I have no idea why I purchased you in the first place, but into the pot!

Add more water (use a now emptied can or two) and the tomato paste.

Once the whole pot is semi boiling, turn your stove down to a simmer.  This is when you’d add the chili seasoning if you want to.

Allow to simmer for maybe an hour or so to allow all the flavours to mingle.

Serve with some nice crusty bread.

All the homeyness of chili, but lighter on the tummy. Jump up.

From → Soups

2 Comments
  1. Rebecca Chalmers permalink

    Howdy this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!Katy Roofing Contractor, 831 Comstock Springs Drive, #A, Katy, TX 77450 – (281) 829-8297

    • Hi Rebecca @Katy! No prob about the unrelated question, smiles, thanks for stopping by my site! WordPress.com does all the work for you, no coding whatsoever required, they have oodles of templates and all these “widgets” they call them that you just drag onto the template (like all the little “most popular search tags” and “my contact info” and “archives” and such on the side of my blog). It’s really quite amazing and simple and I highly recommend. Plus it’s free! Don’t know how they do it! It’s free if you end with “wordpress.com” (like my CookMoreSmileMore.wordpress.com”) but I think I remember it was just $18 a year to not have to end with the word wordpress.

      Important – WordPress.org is almost the same and was created by the same people BUT you do need coding skills, so be careful not to go there, smiles!

      Best of luck with your new site, may it bring you much traffic! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

