Skip to content

Microwave Risotto, For The Dish-Washing-Phobic

April 30, 2011

This Microwave Risotto is a one bowl wonder!  I don’t usually encourage microwave cooking, but I cook every night and sometimes I don’t feel like spending half of my evening washing my dishes.  That is when recipes like this delightfully creamy one bowl Microwave Risotto are a blessing.

Ingredients:

Butter, 2 tablespoons.

Onion, diced (sorry, not in photo as I realized I didn’t have one when I got home from grocery shopping, oops).

Optional: 2 chicken breasts or 1 turkey breast cut in 1 inch squares.

Rice, preferably short grain such as arborio, but today I used brown medium grained calrose style rice, 1 1/4 cup.

White wine, 1/4 cup.

Broth, I used chicken broth, but vegetable broth would likely work too, 2 1/2 cups.

Whipping cream, 1 cup (2/3 for cooking and 1/3 for finishing).  DO NOT substitute for lesser than 35% cream, otherwise the cream will break and curdle, not pretty.

Broccoli, or about 3 cups of any vegetable, I really enjoy using butternut squash or you might like asparagus.

Parmesan cheese, 1/3 cup grated.

Serves 4 as a main dish, 6 to 8 as a side dish.

Melt about two tablespoons of butter in a large microwave safe bowl, about 30 seconds (it doesn’t have to be entirely melted).

Stir in the onions and optional chicken or turkey into the butter.  Microwave for 3 minutes (whether you included the meat or not).

The meat won’t be fully cooked at this point.

Stir in the rice and microwave for 3 more minutes.

Add the 1/4 cup wine, 2 1/2 cups broth and 2/3 of the cup of whipping cream.  Stir and microwave for 10 minutes.  Stir and microwave for another 10 minutes.

After the twenty minutes, your risotto will still look like there is way too much liquid, but don’t worry!

Stir in the vegetables and you will already notice a considerable difference in the amount of liquid there seems to be in the bowl.  Microwave for 5 to 10 minutes.  This depends on the vegetable you chose.  I like my broccoli to melt in my mouth, so I always microwave for the full 10 minutes.

Now the cooking is done and there should be hardly any liquid left in the bowl.  But risotto is supposed to be creamy, so there is one more step.

Finish the risotto by stirring in the remaining 1/3 cup of whipping cream and the 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese.  The cream and cheese should stick to the risotto, resulting in a creamy texture.  If your risotto is a bit soupy, just let it sit for a few minutes before serving.

This creamy one bowl Microwave Risotto is also great the next day.  I bring it to work for lunch.  Before reheating in the microwave, add one spoonful of water and the risotto will return to the same creamy texture as the night before.

Just wash your bowl and relax for the rest of the evening!  Jump up.

From → Mains

2 Comments
  1. How big of a bowl would I need for that? (my math skills aren’t top notch, but there looks like about 6 cups of ‘stuff’ in there…)

    • Giggles, good question! I used the second biggest bowl I have, it looks to be about twice the size of my 8 cup measuring cup. I remember making it before in my 8 cupper and it expanded right to the brim so I couldn’t stir it! Stirring is pretty essential. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

